Weddings

Getting Married in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Old-fashioned weddings. Candlelight & garden ceremonies. A horse-drawn carriage. All with ordained ministers, photography, flowers, music, receptions and videography. Along with your choice of wonderful and romantic honeymoon cabins!

 

Contact the Park's Ranger Activities Division (865-436-1266) to request a copy of the guidelines and application for a permit. Applications cost $50 and must be submitted at least 14 days in advance of the wedding. Parking is limited. Finally, you must understand that even if you have a permit for a ceremony in the Park, you don't have exclusive use of the area, and that persons outside your party (tourists) have unfettered access to the premises. Most are courteous enough, though, to keep their distance.

Forms can be downloaded here.

Marriage License

Both parties must be present to obtain the marriage license from the County Clerk's Marriage License Centers (see below). There is no waiting period and an appointment is not necessary to obtain the license. Proof of age is required by a driver's license, state-issued picture ID, a valid passport or certified birth certificate. A blood test is not required and applicants need not be residents of Sevier County to wed there. Couples may also bring a valid Tennessee marriage license from anywhere in the state of Tennessee, but remember that the license is only valid for 30 days after issue. If applicants are under the age of 18, both parents or legal guardians must sign the marriage certificate. NOTE: The license costs $36 and may be used anywhere in the state of Tennessee. The County Clerk will only take cash in the exact amount. 

License Requirements

  1. Must be at least 18 years of age.
  2. Have proof of age (birth certificate, driver’s license, etc.)
  3. Marriage License must be purchased in the state of Tennessee (any license purchased in any county is good in any part of the state as long as it is in the state of Tennessee.)
  4. If you have been married previously, bring a copy of your divorce decree with you when you purchase your marriage license (some questions may be asked in regards as to when your divorce was final).
  5. Depending upon the county where you purchase your license, the cost will range from $31.00 to $35.00.
  6. The marriage license is valid for use for 30 days from the date purchased.
  7. The State of Tennessee does not require a blood test.
  8. The State of Tennessee does not have a waiting period.
     

Marriage License Centers

Knox County

Knox County Courthouse
(865) 215-2382
8 am - 4:30 pm

Farragut
(865) 777-9476
8 am - 4:30 pm

Halls
(865) 922-5214
8 am - 4:30 pm

Knoxville Center
(865) 215-1502
8am - 9 pm
Saturday: 10 am - 4 pm

Chapman Highway
(865) 577-4851
8am - 5pm 

Blount County

Blount County Courthouse
345 Court Street
Maryville, TN 37804-5906
(865) 273-5800
www.blounttn.org 

Foothill’s Mall
County Clerk’s Office (Next to Merle Norman)
197 Foothills Mall Dr. Maryville, TN 37801
(865) 982-3613